Sultan awards state decorations
By Azlan Othman

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam yesterday awarded 30 recipients with state decorations at the audience and investiture ceremony, to mark the monarch's 62nd birthday, at the Istana Nurul Iman.

Also present at the event were Her Majesty Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Hjh Saleha, Her Royal Highness Pengiran Isteri Azrinaz Mazhar, His Royal Highness Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office, HRH Paduka Seri Pengiran Anak Isteri Pengiran Anak Sarah, HRH Prince Mohamed Bolkiah, HRH Pengiran Anak Isteri Pengiran Anak Hjh Zariah, HRH Prince Haji Sufri Bolkiah, YAM Pengiran Bini Hjh Faizah, HRH Prince Abdul Malik, HRH Prince Abdul Mateen and other members of the royal family.

Foreign guests, including HRH Princess Basma of Jordan and senior officials from Asean member countries, were also in attendance.

Among the recipients of the state decorations were Malaysian Inspector General of Police (IGP) Tan Sri Dato Sri Musa bin Dato Haji Hassan, permanent secretaries, diplomats, medical experts, religious figures and retired educators.

Heading the list of recipients was the Malaysian IGP, who received Most Gallant Order of Pahlawan Negara Brunei (PSPNB), first class, which carries the title, "Dato Seri Pahlawan".

Awang Haji Tasim bin Haji Akim and Awang Haji Mohd Zaimi bin Haji Talip were each awarded Most Eminent Order of Islam Brunei (DSSUB), second class, which carries the title, "Dato Seri Setia".

Mohammad Arif bin Abdullah @ Dr Naliathamby Rajendran received Most Distinguished Order of Paduka Seri Laila Jasa (DSLJ), second class, which carries the title, "Dato Seri Laila Jasa".

Awang Haji Hairolarni bin Haji Abdul Majid, Pengiran Haji Yunus bin Pengiran Haji Mahmud, Pengiran Haji Jaberuddin bin Pengiran Haji Mohd Salleh, Haji Mohd Nor bin Haji Jeludin, Haji Sabtu Haji Muhammad, Datin Dayang Tan Bee Yong, Dayang Apsah bte Haji Abdul Majid, Pengiran Datin Hjh Hairani bte Pengiran Maharaja Lela Pengiran Muda Abdul Kahar, and Pengiran Anak Datin Hjh Masnah bte Pengiran Anak Safiuddin each received Most Honourable Order of Seri Paduka Mahkota Brunei (DPMB), second class, which carries the title, "Dato Paduka".

Another 14 received Most Blessed Order of Setia Negara Brunei (SNB), third class, and they were: 115 Colonel (U) Awang Haji Muhammad Rashid bin Asut, 121 Colonel (U) Awang Hamid bin Nayan, Awang Zainal Abidin bin Dato Paduka Haji Ahmad, Awang Haji Osman bin Haji Tamin, Awang Haji Mohd Salleh bin Haji Mohiddin, Awang Chong Fu Li, Pengiran Shariffudin bin Pengiran Haji Matali, Dr Awg Haji Sablee bin Haji Aspar, Awang Victor Edgar Keasberry, Pengarah Awang Haji Ismit bin Pengarah Mudim Haji Naim, Awang Haji Abu Bakar bin Haji Md Don, Dr Haji Mehboob Alikhan, Haji Awang Ahmad Morshidi bin Pehin Orang Kaya Digadong Seri Diraja Dato Laila Utama Haji Awang Abdul Rahman, and Dayang Hjh Zainidah bte Pehin Orang Kaya Digadong Seri Lela Dato Seri Paduka Haji Hussain.

Meanwhile, Awang Haji Mohd Serudin bin Haji Timbang, Awang Haji Mahir bin Mohd Yusof and Datin Hjh Mastura bte Haji Awang received Most Eminent Order of Islam Brunei (SSUB), third class. - Borneo Bulletin (16th July 2008)