Traffic Games come to a halt
By Malek Hashim

The final round of the Brunei Shell Petroleum (BSP) National Road Safety Traffic Games Competition for secondary schools was held yesterday at the Oil and Gas Discovery Centre (OGDC) in Seria.

The champion of this year's competition was Sekolah Pengiran Dipa Negara Pengiran Jaya Sengkarai while Sayyidina Hussain Secondary School came second.

In third place was Sayyidina Ali Secondary School.

Present to grace the prize presentation ceremony was Her Royal Highness Princess Hajah Masna, Ambassador-at-Large at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

The objectives of the competition were to raise awareness about road traffic safety to the youths especially secondary school students, expose participants on road rules and regulation, thus equipping themselves with the knowledge and guideline in obeying and practicing good manners and respect to other road users.

The preliminary stage of the competition was conducted in the form of written tests participated by around 700 secondary school students from 35 schools nationwide. A total of 84 students representing six schools made it to this year's final.

Each school was represented by 14 students, comprising three car drivers, four bicycle riders, five pedestrians and two substitutes. The student would travel to various designated checkpoints while trying not to break road traffic rules and regulations.

The arena of the competition was the Traffic Games Park, which was built resembling a town complete with roads, small roads, junctions, corners, road signs, zebra crossing, and landmark as well as basic public infrastructures.

The presentation of prizes to seven other activities was also held during the event. In the colouring competition for kindergarten students, Siti Nurul Naqqiyah Syafiqah binti Haji Ibrahim from Chung Hwa Middle School BSB came first. Meanwhile, Kelly Chung Jia Yue from Chung Ching Middle School Seria emerged as the winner in the Primary One section of the same category.

In the written test competition for Primary Two, Bibi Aidi Fatinah binti Haji Junandi from Rimba II Primary School outshined other contestants to become the winner. In the written test competition for Primary Three, Siti Nurhayati binti Mohd Jefri from Penanjong Tutong Primary School came first.

In the essay writing competition for Primary Four, Ivy Wong Ker Hsing from Chung Hwa Middle School BSB became the first-place winner. While Kuncheria Jose from Chung Hua Middle School KB came first in the same category for Primary Five.

The first-place winners in the PowerPoint Presentation competition among Primary Six students were Nur Afifah binti Muhd Hazim, Ak Mohd Firdaus bin Pg Zainal Abidin and Muhd Ibrahim Affan bin Hj Sulaiman from the Anggerek Desa Primary School.

Nurul Shakira Batrisyiah binti Hj Abd Rahman Arif, Dk Nur Anati binti Pg Hj Abd Wahab and Nur Adilah Aimi binti A Jinnidi from St Andrew's School BSB came second followed by Nurfauzana binti Saiful, Rafika binti Hj Mohd Sham, Hana Naqibah binti Aladin from the Muhammad Alam Primary School. - Borneo Bulletin (29th June 2008)