Her Majesty awards competition winners
By Azlan Othman

Her Majesty Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Hajah Saleha, a royal patron of the Girl Guides Association of Brunei Darussalam, yesterday consented to present prizes to the winners of the Girl Guides Association National Quran Reading competition.

Also present were Her Royal Highness Pengiran Anak Isteri Pengiran Anak Hajah Zariah, YAM Pengiran Bini Hajah Faizah bte Dato Hj Nasir, HRH Princess Hajah Majeedah Nuurul Bolkiah, HRH Princess Hajah Masna, who is the Vice-President of the Girl Guides Association, HRH Princess Hjh Amal Umi Kalthum Al-Islam and HRH Princess Hjh Noor Ehsani.

In her opening remarks, chief commissioner of the association Hjh Siti Hafsah bte Hj Abd Halim noted that the competition, which was split into different categories for 'Brownies,' 'Girl Guides and Ranger Girls' as well as 'Youth Leaders,' played out in the Tutong District on May 14, 2010.

Meanwhile, the competition for the 'Adult Leaders' and 'Commissioners/Councils' categories was witnessed at the association's Kg Anggerek Desa headquarters on May 30. The competition attracted 69 participants in totality.

In further meeting the objectives of the annual religious gathering, the categories were changed this year, whereby adult leaders and youth leaders were put into two different categories.

This resulted in the awarding of the President's Challenge Trophy in the Youth Leaders category, which was presented by HRH Princess Hajah Rashidah Sa'adatul Bolkiah, the president of the association.

The 20 participants who successfully made it into the finals of the competition were awarded prizes.

Emerging victorious in the Brownies category was Nurmunawarah bte Hj Ibrahim from Nusa Laila Puteri School, followed by Siti Mahirah bte Ma'mor of Tumpuan Telisai Primary School and Azrinatul Mutamimah bte Sarif Mohtar of SOAS Muara Primary School.

In the Girl Guides and Ranger Girl category, Fatin Afiqah bte Hj Tarip from Princess Masna Secondary School clinched first prize, while Nurrasikah bte Mohd Dahani from Sayyidina Husain Secondary School and Faizzah bte Sabudin from Perdana Wazir Secondary School took second and third places respectively.

In the Youth Leaders category, Atikah bte Mirwan Batu Bara from Maktab Duli came in first place, followed by Nur Wafaa' bte Mohammad from the Science College and Hjh Masnordina bte Hj Jaainuddin.

In the Adult Leaders category, Hjh Aisah bte Hj Muhammad from SUAMRIPAD emerged as victor, followed by Hjh Bidah bte Hj Amit from Sultan Abdul Bubin Primary School and Norazrina bte Hj Sarbini from Sayyidina Hassan Secondary School.

In the Councils and Commissioners category, Hjh Siti Hafsah bte Hj Abd Halim, the head of Commissioner, emerged as the winner, followed by Pg Hjh Sarah bte Pg Hj Kamaludin, the head of Commissioner Development, and Hjh Masnah bte Hj Daud, the international commissioner. - Borneo Bulletin (26th June 2010)