Sultan attends thanksgiving prayers
By Hakim H

Today, the Taman Haji Sir Muda Omar 'Ali Saifuddien in the capital will witness a grand and vibrant 27th National Day Celebration involving over 20,000 citizens.

Last night, a special 'doa selamat' or thanksgiving prayer for the country's continued prosperity and security was held at all mosques throughout all four districts in Brunei with the main focus on Sultan Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Mosque in the capital in conjunction with the National Day.

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam joined his subjects to perform the maghrib and isyak prayers at the Sultan Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Mosque.

Accompanying His Majesty were His Royal Highness Prince Hj Al-Muhtadee Billah, the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office, HRH Prince 'Abdul 'Azim, HRH Prince 'Abdul Malik and HRH Prince 'Abdul Wakeel.

The evening commenced with the maghrib prayer led by Pehin Siraja Khatib Dato Paduka Seri Setia Ustaz Hj Yahya Hj Ibrahim. It was followed by a sembahyang 'sunat hajat' led by Pehin Orang Kaya Paduka Seri Utama Dato Paduka Seri Setia Hj Salim Hj Besar to seek blessings and harmony from Allah (SWT) for Brunei and it's people.

Shortly after the sunat hajat prayers, His Majesty was joined by his people in a mass recitation of the Surah Yassin, which was led by Pehin Orang Kaya Paduka Setia Raja Dato Paduka Seri Setia Haji Awang Suhaili bin Haji Mohiddin. A doa selamat was then read by the State Mufti, Pehin Datu Seri Maharaja Dato Paduka Seri Setia (Dr) Ustaz Hj Abdul Aziz Juned.

It was followed by the Isyak prayer, led by Pehin Datu Imam Dato Paduka Seri Setia Ustaz Hj Awg Abdul Hamid bin Bakal.

Upon leaving the mosque, the congregation took the opportunity to greet His Majesty and other members of the royal family.

Mosque-goers including civil servants and some from the private sector were allowed to go home as early as 4pm yesterday to enable them to join the thanksgiving prayers nationwide.

The ceremony was also attended by Cabinet Ministers, deputy ministers, senior government officers, as well as members of the public. - Borneo Bulletin (23rd February 2011)