His Majesty presents top Tug-of-War Troph
By Fadhil Yunus

Brunei emerged as the champion of the Borneo Tug-of-War Championship final after they fended off the challenge mounted by Sarawak in two rounds during His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam's annual Get-Together Ceremony at the Taman Haji Sir Muda Omar 'Ali Saifuddien in the capital yesterday.

Labuan clinched third spot, while Kalimantan and Sabah took fourth and fifth place, respectively.

The winners also had the incredible honour of receiving the championship trophy from His Majesty.

Brunei also took home individual medals and the B$6,000 cash prize for their efforts, while Sarawak received $4,000 and individual medals.

The previous winner of this competition was Brunei in 2008, as it was not contested in the last couple of years due to the H1N1 pandemic. - Borneo Bulletin (25th July 2011)