His Majesty presents special awards for Teacher's Day
By Danial Norjidi

Fourteen educators were honoured with special awards from His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam yesterday in acknowledgment of their contribution to education in the country.

The awards ceremony took place during the 21st Teacher's Day celebration at the International Convention Centre (ICC) in Berakas.

The monarch consented to present the awards to the recipients, who were visibly in buoyant moods upon receiving such an honour.

The first awards to be presented were the Sultan Haji Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Education Awards - the most prestigious Teacher's Day award, which is only presented periodically.

The award, which comes with a certificate of honour, $20,000 in cash, a medal and free first-class medical care at government hospitals in the country, was presented to three recipients, first of whom was YAM Pengiran Indera Mahkota Pengiran Anak (Dr) Kemaludin Al-Haj ibni Al-Marhum Pengiran Bendahara Pengiran Anak Haji MohdYassin.

The two other recipients were Pehin Jawatan Dalam Seri Maharaja Dato Seri Utama (Dr) Haji Awang Mohd Jamil Al-Sufri bin Begawan Pehin Udana Khatib Dato Seri Paduka Haji Awang Umar and Pehin Orang Kaya Laila Wijaya Dato Seri Setia (Dr) Haji Awang Abdul Aziz bin Begawan Pehin Udana Khatib Dato Seri Paduka Haji Awang Umar.

The next award to be presented was the Meritorious Teacher Award, which came with a certificate of honour, $12,000 in cash, a souvenir and first class medical services at Brunei hospitals.

Four teachers proudly received this award yesterday, namely, Haji Umar bin Haji Ahai, Haji Juned bin Mustafa, Dato Paduka Haji Abdul Jalil bin Abdul Rahman and Pengiran Haji Tajudin bin Pengiran Haji Bustamam.

The third and final award to be presented yesterday was the Excellent Teacher Award, along with an honour certificate, $4,000 in cash, a souvenir and priority for in-service training.

Seven recipients received this honour, beginning with Haji Jumaat bin Salleh from Sayyidina Umar Al-Khattab Secondary School and Kho Guik Lan from Chung Hwa Secondary School BSB, both of whom received the award for school leadership.

Haji Ali Yusri bin Haji Abdul Ghafor from the Counselling and Career Section at the Department of Schools received his award for counselling, while Teo Soo Bee from Sultan Muhammad Jamalul Alam Secondary School received an award for Additional Mathematics.

Rusidah binti Haji Talip from Bandar Seri Begawan Arabic Preparatory School was the next recipient for Arabic Language (Balaghah), while STPRI's Hajah Dayang Buntar binti Haji Mamut received the award for Art & Craft.

The seventh and final recipient of the award yesterday was Noor Azizah binti Abas of Tunas Jaya PGGMB School, Madang, for Mathematics.

The 15 recipients of the Special Teacher's Day Appreciation Award were also named, and will be receiving their awards on October 13. - Borneo Bulletin (25th September 2011)