Sultan confers 24 honorary titles
Hakim Hayat

HIS Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam yesterday consented to confer honorary titles to 24 individuals, comprising locals and foreigners in honour of their significant contributions to the nation at an Investiture Ceremony marking His Majesty’s 67th Birthday.

Hundreds from across the community comprising state dignitaries, cabinet ministers, foreign diplomats, high-ranking government officials and specially invited guests descended upon the Balai Singgahsana Indera Buana at the Istana Nurul Iman during the auspicious annual event following the royal birthday parade in the capital which was held in lieu of July 15, 2013, when the nation was observing the holy Ramadhan.

Joining His Majesty and Her Majesty Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Hajah Saleha at the ceremony were HRH Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah, the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister’s Office and HRH Paduka Seri Pengiran Anak Isteri Pengiran Anak Sarah;

HRH Prince Mohamed Bolkiah, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, HRH Pengiran Anak Isteri Pengiran Anak Hajah Zariah, HRH Prince Haji Sufri Bolkiah, YAM Pengiran Bini Hajah Faizah and HRH Prince Haji Jefri Bolkiah.

Also present were HRH Prince Haji ‘Abdul Azim, HRH Prince ‘Abdul Malik, HRH Prince ‘Abdul Mateen, HRH Prince ‘Abdul Wakeel as well as other members of the royal family.

Following a titah, the monarch consented to confer the medals to 24 individuals comprising senior government officials including permanent secretaries and directors of various ministries as well as the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission’s chief commissioner.

First to be called upon to receive the honorary medal was Dato Seri Setia Hj Abdul Aziz bin Orang Kaya Maharaja Lela Hj Mohd Yusof who was conferred with ‘The Most Eminent Order of Islam Brunei Second Class’ (DSSUB).

This was followed by the conferment of ‘The Most Honourable Order of Seri Paduka Mahkota Brunei (DPMB) Second Class’ to 12 recipients namely Dato Paduka Awang Haji Mohammad Aziyan bin Abdullah, Dato Paduka Haji Jamain bin Haji Julaihi, Dato Paduka Tan Sri Haji Abu Kassim bin Haji Mohammed, Dato Paduka Haji Muhammad Juanda bin Haji Abdul Rashid, Pengiran Dato Paduka Haji Abdul Rahman bin Pengiran Seri Indera Pengiran Haji Ismail, Police SAC Pengiran Dato Paduka Haji Abdul Wahab bin Pengiran Haji Omar, Dato Paduka Dr Haji Shaukat Zinna, Begawan Pehin Khatib Dato Paduka Awang Haji Zainuddin bin Begawan Pehin Seri Khatib Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Mohammad Tamin, Begawan Pehin Khatib Dato Paduka Awang Haji Mat Jaya bin Haji Ibrahim, Datin Paduka Malai Hajah Halimah bte Malai Yusof, Datin Paduka Hajah Suriyah bte Hj Umar and Datin Paduka Dr Hajah Norlila bte Dato Paduka Haji Abdul Jalil.

Haji Madzneh bin Haji Mohd Noor was the sole recipient of the ‘Most Eminent Order of Islam Brunei Third Class (SSUB).’

Meanwhile, nine individuals were conferred with the ‘Most Blessed Order of Setia Negara Brunei (SNB) Third Class.’

The recipients were Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Haji Mohamed Don bin Haji Harith, Senior Superintendent of Police Pengiran Haji Mohd Roslin bin Pengiran Haji Bakar, Haji Jamain bin Momin, Retired Liuetenant Colonel (Rtd) Awang Yahya bin Haji Abdul Rahman, Haji Ahmad Rafie bin Haji Mohd Yusof, Haji Naim bin Mat Salleh, Hajah Siah bte Haji Amat, Hajah Airah bte Haji Abdullah and Hajah Zaiani bte Haji Noorkhan.

Dr Haji Haroon Mandath Pillay was the sole recipient of ‘the Most Distinguished Order of Paduka Seri Laila Jasa Third Class (SLJ).’ - Borneo Bulletin (16 September 2013)